Best booking software for personal trainers in the UK (2026)
8 min read · Updated 7 October 2026
A lot of booking software is built for studios with a public timetable. Many personal trainers book clients over WhatsApp and sell packs of sessions. Look for an app that does packs, payments and private bookings well, and costs little while you're starting out. We make Coachfront. Facts come from each company's own website, linked at the end.
What a personal trainer needs from booking software
- Session packs and monthly plans, with sessions left visible to the client
- A way to book clients yourself, without publishing your diary
- Deposits or upfront payment, so a no-show is paid for
- Tracking of who owes what, including cash and bank transfers
- Clients booking and paying from their phone without a password
- A price that suits a handful of clients
The main options side by side
Monthly price
- Coachfront
- No monthly fee. 1% of online payments, capped at £49
- Gymcatch
- £10 + VAT, plus £2 bolt-ons
- Bookwhen
- Free for free events. Paid plans from Lite
- TeamUp
- From £99
- Mindbody
- From £89 per location
Contract
- Coachfront
- None
- Gymcatch
- None
- Bookwhen
- None
- TeamUp
- None
- Mindbody
- Fixed terms, for example 12, 24 or 36 months
Clients book without an account
- Coachfront
- Yes
- Gymcatch
- No
- Bookwhen
- Yes
- TeamUp
- Not stated
- Mindbody
- No
Packs and memberships
- Coachfront
- Yes
- Gymcatch
- Yes, memberships £2 bolt-on
- Bookwhen
- Yes, Standard and above
- TeamUp
- Yes
- Mindbody
- Yes
Deposits with balance tracked
- Coachfront
- Yes
- Gymcatch
- Not stated
- Bookwhen
- Deposit ticket only
- TeamUp
- Not stated
- Mindbody
- Not stated
Private times sent by link
- Coachfront
- Yes
- Gymcatch
- Not stated
- Bookwhen
- Not stated
- TeamUp
- Not stated
- Mindbody
- Not stated
UK Direct Debit
- Coachfront
- Yes
- Gymcatch
- Yes
- Bookwhen
- Not stated
- TeamUp
- Yes
- Mindbody
- Yes
Prices from each company's own pricing page on 7 October 2026. Card processing fees are extra on all of them. Not stated means their website doesn't say.
Best for PTs who book over WhatsApp: Coachfront
If most of your bookings start in a WhatsApp chat, Coachfront's Send a time lets you offer a time, or a few, with a deposit. The client picks one and pays, and it's in your diary. Anything still owed gets a pay link you can paste into the same chat.
There's no monthly fee, and clients pay no booking fee. Packs, monthly plans with a session limit, carry-over of unused sessions and Direct Debit are all included.
Best low flat price: Gymcatch
Gymcatch costs £10 a month plus VAT, with £2 bolt-ons for extras such as memberships. If you take a lot of card payments every month, a flat fee can work out cheaper than a percentage. It also has its own app for clients.
Best for classes and events: Bookwhen
Bookwhen is popular with UK class and event organisers, lets people book as guests and offers booking pages in 11 languages. Its free plan covers free events only, so you'll need a paid plan to take payments. Deposits work as a separate deposit ticket, with the balance collected outside Bookwhen.
Best for growing gyms: TeamUp
TeamUp is built for gyms and studios with a member base, priced by active customers from £99 a month with no contract. It has a member app, lead management and Direct Debit through GoCardless. For a solo PT with a handful of clients it's more than you need.
Best for multi-location businesses: Mindbody
Mindbody suits larger businesses that want its consumer marketplace and done-for-you websites. Pricing starts at £89 a month per location on fixed terms, for example 12, 24 or 36 months, and clients need a Mindbody account to book.
How to choose
- Mostly 1:1 clients booked by message: pick something that does private booking links and deposits.
- Mostly classes: pick something with a strong public timetable and waitlist.
- Lots of card income each month: compare a flat fee against a capped percentage for your real numbers.
- Want to leave easily: check the contract length and whether exporting your data is free.
Write down a normal month: card income, number of payments and number of clients. Then work out the real cost of each option, including card fees.
Sources, checked on 7 October 2026
- https://www.gymcatch.com/pricing
- https://support.gymcatch.com/en/articles/13051287-do-i-need-a-gymcatch-account-to-book-a-class-session
- https://www.bookwhen.com/pricing
- https://support.bookwhen.com/en/articles/3448520-taking-a-deposit-for-your-event
- https://support.bookwhen.com/en/articles/753343-supported-languages-in-bookwhen
- https://goteamup.com/pricing
- https://www.mindbodyonline.com/en-gb/business/pricing
- https://support.mindbodyonline.com/s/article/Consumer-cart-v2-branded-web-tools
Quick answers
- Which booking apps for personal trainers have no monthly fee?
- Coachfront has no monthly fee and includes every feature, taking 1% of online payments capped at £49 a month. Calendly's free plan covers one type of 1:1 booking. Bookwhen's free plan is for free events only.
- Do personal trainers need booking software?
- Not on day one. It starts to help once you're tracking packs, payments and cancellations for more than a few clients.
- Can I take deposits for PT sessions?
- Yes. With Coachfront you set a deposit when you send a time or on the session type, and the balance is tracked until it's paid.