Free booking software for fitness classes compared
6 min read · Updated 7 October 2026
Free plans have limits, such as free events only, one type of booking or a fee on every payment. The table shows what each free plan includes for a fitness class or PT business. We make Coachfront. Facts come from each company's own website, linked at the end.
Free plans compared
Monthly price
- Coachfront
- £0
- Bookwhen
- £0
- Square Appointments
- £0
- Calendly
- $0
Take payments
- Coachfront
- Yes
- Bookwhen
- No, free events only
- Square Appointments
- Yes
- Calendly
- No, paid plans only
Booking limit
- Coachfront
- None
- Bookwhen
- 50 a month
- Square Appointments
- Not stated
- Calendly
- One booking type
Class timetable
- Coachfront
- Yes
- Bookwhen
- Yes
- Square Appointments
- Classes are on Plus (£29)
- Calendly
- Group events only
Packs and memberships
- Coachfront
- Yes
- Bookwhen
- Paid plans
- Square Appointments
- Packages on Plus
- Calendly
- Not stated
Platform fee on payments
- Coachfront
- 1%, capped at £49 a month
- Bookwhen
- None
- Square Appointments
- None. Square's card rate applies
- Calendly
- None stated
From each company's own pages on 7 October 2026. Card processing fees apply on top in every case.
When a free plan is enough
If you run a few free community sessions, Bookwhen's free plan or Calendly's free plan will do. The moment you charge for classes, sell packs or run a membership, you need a plan that takes payments and tracks sessions.
Coachfront includes all of that with no monthly fee. You pay nothing until a client pays you online.
Hidden costs to check
- A booking fee charged to your clients on top of your price
- A commission on new clients found through a marketplace
- Features you need, like memberships or waitlists, only on a paid tier
- A fee to export your client list when you leave
- Card processing rates, which every option has
Work out the real cost for your month
Take a normal month: how much clients pay you by card, how many payments that is, and how many clients book. Add up the monthly fee, any percentage and the card fees for each option.
With Coachfront, a month taking £2,000 in 120 card payments costs £20 in our fee plus £54 in Stripe card fees, and there's no monthly fee.
Sources, checked on 7 October 2026
- https://www.bookwhen.com/pricing
- https://squareup.com/gb/en/appointments/pricing
- https://squareup.com/help/gb/en/article/7991-class-booking-with-square-appointments
- https://squareup.com/help/gb/en/article/8268-create-and-manage-packages-with-square-appointments
- https://calendly.com/pricing
- https://calendly.com/help/group-event-type-overview
Quick answers
- Is there completely free class booking software?
- Some tools are free for free events. Once you take payments, every option has card processing fees, and most have a monthly fee or a percentage too.
- What does Coachfront cost?
- There's no monthly fee and every feature is included. When a client pays online we take 1%, never more than £49 a month.