Coachfront
All guides

A Fresha alternative for personal trainers (2026)

7 min read · Updated 10 October 2026

Fresha is a booking app with a large marketplace, built mostly for salons and spas. Personal trainers find it when they search for booking software, and then run into the marketplace rules. We make Coachfront. This guide sets out what we found on Fresha's own pages on 9 October 2026, plus two figures reported by third-party sites.

What Fresha is

Fresha is booking software with a public marketplace attached. Clients search by treatment and place, and Fresha shows businesses nearest to them first. Bookings also come from Instagram and Facebook buttons, Reserve with Google and links on your own website.

Almost all of that marketplace is beauty. In the sitemaps Fresha publishes, about 11 in 100 UK search pages are about massage and fewer than 1 in 100 are about fitness.

What Fresha costs

  • Fresha's pricing page lists paid plans and a 7-day trial, with no free plan. When we read it from outside the UK it showed euro prices, so we have not quoted a UK price as fact. A UK review site, not Fresha, reports £14.95 a month for one person. We have not checked it with Fresha.
  • Card payments cost a percentage that Fresha shows on its pricing page, and the UK rate was not shown to us.
  • There is a one-off fee on brand-new clients who first find you on the Fresha marketplace. Fresha's pricing page does not state the rate. Some UK third-party sites report 20% of the first booking, with a minimum. We have not checked it with Fresha.

Ask Fresha for the new client rate in writing before you rely on it. It is the number that changes the sums most.

Why personal trainers look for an alternative

These come from Fresha's own help pages and public listings.

  • Online booking depends on the marketplace profile. Fresha's help pages say that unlisting your profile turns off every online booking channel, including the button on your own website.
  • The new client fee can apply to someone who looked at your Fresha profile and later booked from your own website or Instagram. Fresha states no time limit.
  • Every venue profile ends with a row of other businesses nearby, so a regular who opens your page sees rivals.
  • Few personal trainers are bookable. On 9 October 2026 the Fresha page for personal trainers in Manchester listed no bookable trainers. It showed trainers who are not Fresha customers, with a Call to book button.
  • Packs, deposits and a 1:1 flow built around WhatsApp are not what the product is designed around.

Where Fresha does well

  • A big marketplace if you run a salon, a spa or a massage business.
  • Card readers and a website add-on from the same company.
  • Staff scheduling for a team.
  • Booking buttons on Instagram, Facebook and Google.

Fresha and Coachfront side by side

Monthly price

Coachfront
No monthly fee
Fresha
Paid plans after a 7-day trial

Fee on online payments

Coachfront
1%, never more than £49 a month
Fresha
A card rate shown on their pricing page

Fee on new clients

Coachfront
None
Fresha
One-off fee on marketplace clients. Third-party UK sites report 20%

Listing

Coachfront
Optional and free
Fresha
Needed for any online booking

Rivals shown on your page

Coachfront
Never
Fresha
A row of nearby businesses on each profile

Book over WhatsApp with a deposit

Coachfront
Yes, Send a time
Fresha
Not a feature we found

Packs and monthly plans

Coachfront
Yes, with pauses and carry-over
Fresha
Packages and memberships exist. Not compared in detail

Free first session for new clients

Coachfront
Yes, one switch
Fresha
Not checked

Fresha facts from its pricing page and help centre, read on 9 October 2026. Where we could not read a UK figure, the table says so.

Which one suits you

  • A salon, spa or massage business that wants walk-in discovery on a big marketplace: Fresha.
  • A personal trainer who books clients over WhatsApp, sells packs and wants every client to stay theirs: Coachfront.
  • A coach who wants a free listing on a town page, with no new-client fee: Coachfront.

Moving off Fresha

Export your client list from Fresha, then import it into Coachfront with each client's sessions left. Keep both running for a week or two and send your regulars your new booking link. Fresha's help pages say a Data Connector add-on exists for a warehouse feed, so check what a basic export includes before you start.

Sources, checked on 10 October 2026

Quick answers

Does Fresha charge personal trainers for new clients?
Fresha charges a one-off fee on brand-new clients who first find a business on its marketplace. Its pricing page does not state the rate. Some UK third-party sites report 20% of the first booking.
Can I use Fresha without the marketplace?
Fresha's help pages say that unlisting your marketplace profile turns off every online booking channel, including the booking button on your own website.
Is there a Fresha alternative with no fee on new clients?
Coachfront has no commission on new clients. It takes 1% of online payments, and Stripe's card fee is extra.