Coachfront
All guides

Gymcatch alternatives in the UK (2026)

7 min read · Updated 8 October 2026

Gymcatch is a UK booking app for fitness businesses. It costs £10 a month plus VAT, with £2 bolt-ons for extras such as memberships, and clients book in its iPhone and Android app or on a web page. People look for an alternative when they want clients to book without an account, want to pause memberships, or run 1:1 sessions from their own working hours. We make Coachfront. Facts come from each company's own website, linked at the end.

What Gymcatch costs

Gymcatch has one plan at £10 a month plus VAT. There's a one-month free trial with no card needed. It's month to month and you can cancel any time.

The plan includes unlimited bookings, customers and team members, classes, appointments and events, automated waitlists, and passes and bundles (class packs). These extras cost £2 a month plus VAT each:

  • Memberships
  • Courses booked as a block
  • Discount codes
  • The code to put booking on your own website
  • Credit given back automatically when someone cancels in time
  • Custom waivers and PAR-Q health questions

With every bolt-on, Gymcatch comes to £22 a month plus VAT, or £26.40 with VAT. Card fees are on top. Booking reminders are listed as coming soon, so they aren't available yet.

Card fees on Gymcatch

GymcatchPay charges 1.3% + 15p on UK consumer cards, with payouts within 3 days. Apple Pay and Google Pay work with GymcatchPay. Gymcatch adds no fee of its own on GymcatchPay or GoCardless Direct Debit.

If you take payments through Stripe instead, Gymcatch has added a 0.75% fee since 29 July 2026, on top of Stripe's own fees.

Why people look for Gymcatch alternatives

These come from Gymcatch's own help centre.

  • Clients must have a Gymcatch account. They set an email and password at their first booking.
  • Memberships can't be paused. The suggested workaround is to end the membership and have the client buy it again.
  • Unused sessions don't carry over to the next month.
  • You can't charge a no-show or late-cancel fee.
  • You can't make a pack private or limit how many times one client buys it.
  • 1:1 appointments are set slots you create. Gymcatch says it doesn't support open bookings from your availability.
  • The address of your booking page can't be changed.
  • There's no Zapier or Mailchimp connection, and Gymcatch is only available in English.
  • Deposits are not stated on their site.

Where Gymcatch does well

  • A low flat price. If you take a lot of card payments, it can cost less than a percentage fee.
  • Low UK card rates through GymcatchPay.
  • A client app for iPhone and Android, plus a web booking page.
  • Courses with automatic swaps to another session, and priority booking of the next block for people on the last one.
  • Fixed-term memberships that show the full total at checkout, or flexible ones clients can cancel themselves.
  • Sub-profiles, so a parent can book for their children.
  • Livestream and on-demand classes, a client newsfeed and referral marketing, all on the base plan.

Gymcatch and Coachfront side by side

Monthly price

Coachfront
No monthly fee
Gymcatch
£10 + VAT, plus £2 + VAT bolt-ons

Fee on online payments

Coachfront
1%, never more than £49 a month
Gymcatch
None on GymcatchPay or GoCardless. 0.75% on Stripe payments since 29 July 2026

Card fees

Coachfront
Stripe: 1.5% + 20p on standard UK cards
Gymcatch
GymcatchPay: 1.3% + 15p on UK consumer cards

Contract

Coachfront
None
Gymcatch
None. Month to month

Clients book without an account

Coachfront
Yes
Gymcatch
No. An account is required

Apple Pay and Google Pay

Coachfront
Yes
Gymcatch
Yes, with GymcatchPay

Memberships

Coachfront
Included
Gymcatch
£2 + VAT a month bolt-on

Pause a membership

Coachfront
Yes
Gymcatch
No

Unused sessions carry over

Coachfront
Yes, up to a limit you set
Gymcatch
No

No-show fees

Coachfront
Yes
Gymcatch
No

1:1 booked from your working hours

Coachfront
Yes, checked against your calendar
Gymcatch
No. Set slots only

Deposits

Coachfront
Yes
Gymcatch
Not stated on their site

UK Direct Debit

Coachfront
Yes, Bacs through Stripe
Gymcatch
Yes, through GoCardless

Booking on your own website

Coachfront
Included
Gymcatch
£2 + VAT a month bolt-on

Languages

Coachfront
English, Spanish, French, Portuguese, German, Italian and Arabic
Gymcatch
English only

Gymcatch facts from its website and help centre on 8 October 2026. Not stated means their website doesn't say.

A quick sum: on £1,000 a month of online payments, Coachfront's fee is £10, and Gymcatch's plan is £12 with VAT before any bolt-ons. Coachfront's fee stops at £49 a month, which it reaches at £4,900 of online payments. Card fees are extra on both.

Which one suits you

  • An instructor or small studio with high card takings who wants one flat price and an app clients download: Gymcatch.
  • Block-based courses where last block's attendees get first pick of the next one: Gymcatch.
  • Personal trainers and massage or sports therapists who book 1:1 from their working hours, or send a time with a deposit: Coachfront.
  • Studios whose clients don't want to make an account, or who want to pause memberships and carry sessions over: Coachfront.
  • A growing gym that wants a member app: TeamUp, from £99 a month for up to 100 active customers, month to month.
  • Classes, courses and events with guest booking: Bookwhen, with a free plan for free events.

Moving off Gymcatch

Gymcatch's site doesn't state how to export your data, so ask their support for your client list as a spreadsheet. Import it into Coachfront with each client's sessions left and expiry date. Run both systems for a week or two, then send clients your new booking link.

Gymcatch memberships end after their last instalment and don't renew automatically, so a good time to move each client is when their current membership ends.

Sources, checked on 8 October 2026

Quick answers

Do clients need an account to book on Gymcatch?
Yes. Gymcatch's help centre says an active Gymcatch account is mandatory, and clients set an email and password at their first booking.
How much does Gymcatch cost with memberships?
£10 a month plus VAT, and memberships are a £2 a month bolt-on plus VAT, so £12 plus VAT. Card fees are extra.
Can I pause a membership on Gymcatch?
Gymcatch's help centre says pausing isn't supported. The suggested workaround is to end the membership and have the client buy it again.
Is there an alternative to Gymcatch with no monthly fee?
Coachfront has no monthly fee. It takes 1% of online payments, and Stripe's card fee is extra.